EU awards scheme launched: ‘Cultural Heritage as an Asset for Responsible and Sustainable Tourism’.

2018 is the European Year of Cultural Heritage, an EU initiative which aims to engage more people to discover Europe’s diverse cultural heritage.  The European Travel Commission (ETC), the European Cultural Tourism Network (ECTN) and Europa Nostra (pan-European Federation for Cultural Heritage) have joined forces to make a contribution to the year and address one of its 10 initiatives: ‘Tourism and Heritage: Responsible and Sustainable Tourism around Cultural Heritage’

They are launching an awards scheme named ‘Cultural Heritage as an Asset for Responsible and Sustainable Tourism’. The Awards will be given for achievements by cultural tourist destinations which have produced significant results related to enhancing visitor experience while respecting traditions and involving local communities. This edition of the Awards is kindly supported by NECSTouR (Network of European Regions for Sustainable and Competitive Tourism).

Promote the Awards on your social media channels: hashtags #EuropeForCulture #EYCH2018 #EuropeForTourism and #CulturalDestinations2018, as well as tag @ETC_Corporate @europanostra and @ectn_eu .

Applications are open to all tourist destinations across Europe, local and regional authorities, tourism boards and associations, destination management organisations, and cultural NGOs.

Applicants can apply in one of the following heritage-related categories:
1. Religious and Pilgrimage
2. Coastal and Maritime
3. Cultural Landscapes
4. Industrial and Military
5. Historic Houses, Villages and Cities
6. Transnational Thematic Products
7. Contributions by Cultural and Creative Industries (CCIs)

The applications will be assessed according to the following criteria:

  1. Relevance to the EYCH2018 objectives
  2. Technical content of actions
  3. Evidence of success
  4. Sustainability of the actions
  5. Ability to attract visitors from outside Europe to lesser known destinations
  6. Synergies with silver tourism, family tourism and/or youth tourism activities
  7. Involvement of the local community

Winners will be announced at the Awards Ceremony to be held during the 11th International Conference for Cultural Tourism on 25-27th October in Pafos, Cyprus recognised as examples of excellence inspiring other tourist destinations and stimulating further development of sustainable and responsible cultural tourism initiatives.

Application forms can also be found, along with more information here.

Please send your application form to by July 1st 2018. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *